#ThisWeeksFiddler, 20240405

This week the question is: Can You Paint by Number?

I’m completing a paint-by-number painting, although this one is a little different from any that I’ve seen before. It’s an infinitely long strip of canvas that is 1 cm wide. It’s broken up into adjacent 1 cm-by-1 cm squares, each of which is numbered zero or one, each with a 50 percent chance. The squares are all numbered independently of each other. Every square with a zero I color red, while every square with a one I color blue.

Once I’m done painting, there will be many “clusters” of contiguous red and blue squares. For example, consider the finite strip of canvas below. It contains 10 total squares and seven clusters, which means the average size of a cluster here is approximately 1.43 squares.

Once I’m done painting, what will be the average size of each red or blue cluster?

Before we get to that though, woohoo!

Congratulations to the (randomly selected) winner from last week: 🎻 Lise Andreasen 🎻 from Valby, Copenhagen, Denmark.

Læs mere: #ThisWeeksFiddler, 20240405

Highlight to reveal solution:

Skriv en kommentar